Do you hear crickets?

I’ve not been as present here as I had hoped of late. Actual sewing has been consuming the precious extra minutes of everyday rather than talking about sewing, I know you understand.

Calvin and Hobbes inspired baby quilt by Smiles Too Loudly

I still have a few completely finished quilts to share with you, one from as far back as October 2016. That will wait a few more days, or let’s be honest, weeks. Today I just want to share a little slice of what’s going on.

Our german shepherd puppy, Hardie, is 10 months old. She alternates between using her enormous intelligence for good and chaos. Most days its for good, though the TV remote would beg to differ.  She takes up a lot of my free time, but puppy snuggles are the best.

A friend of a friend is collecting baby quilts for local refugees, so I’ve been working on a few of those. Finishing up an embarrassingly old do.Good stitches quilt and making a few quick to assemble baby quilt tops.

Finally starting to paint the house in more me friendly colors. Manila folders is not a good color, just sayin’. I’m going to try and squeeze in a little more unpacking too. A few friends have recently moved and are 100% unpacked. I moved a year ago, and am, maybe 40% unpacked…. Competition is a great motivator, right? Maybe there will even be some sewing room organization happening?

How’s your summer shaping up?

6 thoughts on “Do you hear crickets?

  1. Blogging can certainly take a back seat to real life sewing and Hardie snuggles. My summer has been rather fraught with doctor’s appointments that I can’t talk about much publicly, but hopefully things will slowly start getting better. And I agree with Michelle, that yellow baby quilt has me all ❤ ❤ ❤ over here.

  2. I agree with Michelle. I’ve been sewing much more that interneting these days, and I’m not sorry for it! The scraps on that HST quilt go so nicely together. I say, quilt more, unpack less!!

  3. Is there a way to really make more hours in a day? Sewing and painting, favorite subjects & Hardie seems to be the tie breaker. She is beautiful & seems to be growing up quickly! Enjoy & no guilt…. Look at all of your quilts and just break into a happy dance! Wonderful happy yellow quilt!!

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

