Cloudy Skies Baby Quilt

Hello! A few months ago I got the chance to make a baby quilt for a coworker of mine. He and his wife are a little more on the conservative side and the nursery was painted with gray and white stripes, so my normal over the top color wouldn’t have really worked.

full-on

One afternoon I just had this flash of using squares and rectangles, with measurements all multiples of 4. The smallest squares measure 4″ square, finished. The largest are 16″ x 16″ and 12″ x 20″.

in-the-breeze

Then, to add a little color, I added the stitch and flip corners. Originally, they were just going to be royal blue, but it looked a little blah. Rainbows to the rescue!!

in-the-wind

I tried really, really hard to force free motion quilting onto this quilt — it just wasn’t going to work.  1/2″ spaced straight lines won out. Boring for me, but great for the quilt.

rolled-up

I backed it in a great Lotta Jansdotter print I’ve had for more than few years, and bound it in a great Karen Lewis print.

close-up-of-lambs

With some of my favorite prints, its no wonder I really wanted to keep this one. Those little sheep are just to die for, and when you combine that with glasses, Architextures, and the cutest paw print, just, ah. Love this quilt.

thumb_dsc_1499_1024

against-the-trees

12 thoughts on “Cloudy Skies Baby Quilt

  1. This is a super adorable quilt, Sarah! I really think that the rainbow is a delight without being over the top and the blue binding really grounds it all. You are so right about those sheep… you parted with so many great prints in this one!

  2. This quilt is designed & created for a future genius,.,.,.,.I love the interaction of patterns! If they don’t like it….KEEP IT! Have been inspired again to stitch away.

  3. I like everything about your quilt. Your choice of fabrics and the quilting. I agree with you on the linear quilting. I really like the simplicity of it (even if it is boring to quilt!). I think, overall, the quilt is inviting. It has a comforting look that would make anyone want to snuggle up to it and be happy.

  4. I was delighted to see this in my Bloglovin’ feed a bit ago! The triumphs here are many … finding a middle ground between the recipient’s palette and your own artistic tendencies, setting aside your love of FMQ to do what was best for the project at hand (and straight lines were the way to go here!), using paw prints and goats and glasses in the same piece. Seriously fabulous finish!

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

