Use what you’ve got!

I’m sure this is not news to anyone, but moving is stressful! And quilting is a great stress relief (well, most of the time) — except the first few weeks of living here in the new house, I had no idea where any of my current WIPs were. So, I could spend my limited sewing time hunting for current projects, or just grab what I could find and start something new. I don’t think any of us are surprised with my decision, are we?

Trimming with Coffee

Unpacking can wait!!!

Trimmins

I won a fat quarter bundle of Best. Day. Ever! by April Rosenthal awhile ago (year+) and that was on the top of a box. Digging around to pull out my iron, cutting mat, ruler, thread, etc, I found a great selection of low volume fabrics. Done. Let’s get sewing!

Donkeys

I love these donkey’s from Laurie Wisbrun’s Jack and Jenny.

In pieces

I’ve loved this pattern from QuiltDad for awhile, and it works perfectly with fat quarters. Unfortunately, it’s a little on the small side for me. You may have noticed I have a propensity for larger quilts… So, I wanted to add a few simple squares.

Overall

With some assistance from the official Quilt Helper, I got it all sewed together… and it was still a little small. It’s currently at about 55 x 70 (I had a few cutting mishaps). I’m sure that’s a great size for quite a few people, just not me. So, back to the think tank.

My helper

It’s currently being unconstructed, strategically. I’m thinking that adding a few more flying arrows, in different sizes, and a bit more blank space. And more fabric, because I used up every bit of the fat quarters. It may be all the recent practice, but I’m thinking hot pink. Yellow would be the predictable, safe choice, afterall. Quilts shouldn’t be too predictable.

Soft kitty

Have you ever taken apart a quilt? Or been dissatisfied with the outcome? Did it eventually work out for you?

5 thoughts on “Use what you’ve got!

  1. I ripped the seams apart on my Beacon quilt more times than I would like to remember to get the points nice and pointy and transitions just they way I wanted; and I was definitely happy I did so. I can’t say I have ever taking a quilt apart to make it bigger, but I know you are going to be happier when it meets your vision for size. 🙂

  2. I love the idea of adding more negative space. It would be cool to feature one HUGE arrow! It’s worth taking apart if it makes you happy! I’ve taken apart some improv before (or really just sliced it up and sewed it anew – it felt much better that way).

  3. I spent my limited sewing time last night hunting for projects. I knew those applique bits I cut out a month or two ago were hiding somewhere, but it took me ages to find them. And I am not even moving!
    Yes, what is one supposed to do with the quilts that are too big for a crib and too small for a bed? Keep going!
    My 2015 stash bee quilt has seen more things gone wrong and unpicking than any other project, but it is finally working out. I just have the binding to go now. Hang in there.

  4. I so agree with making it bigger and I think your idea of different size arrows is a good one. It will add interest and size to what is already a lovely quilt. I find than other than a baby/young child quilt, to be useful and crucially get used they need to be 60″ by 70″ as a min. In fact as far as my family are concerned the bigger the better!! I added borders to a finished quilt once to make it toddler sized, I unpicked the binding and then QAYG the borders – never again! Hopefully you can find your stash or is this an opportunity to go shopping?

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

