A Special Quilt

Hi!! Today I get to share a very special quilt. A coworker’s daughter was recently diagnosed with brain cancer, so of course I had to make a quilt.

A girly charm square quilt by Smiles Too Loudly

I went with a simple charm square pattern, with a hefty dose of her favorite color: pink. Yes, I made another pink quilt. I did add a hefty dose of blue, based off an Anna Marie Horner print. That’s right. Pink and AMH.

A girly charm square quilt by Smiles Too Loudly

I managed to get the quilt top mostly done right before I went on retreat with the Seacoast and New Hampshire MQGs. Three days of non-stop sewing time was exactly what I needed to get this quilt done. A giant floor for basting was a really good incentive too.

A girly charm square quilt by Smiles Too Loudly

On the way to retreat, I stopped at a magical store called Marden’s. Now, if you google search that it says its a surplus carpeting store. Well, it’s sooooo much more than that. There’s a giant section of discount fabrics. All under $5/yd. I found this great pink on pink print from Michael Miller to use for the back of this quilt. And since I didn’t bother measuring a quilt (who has time?) I waaaay overbought, and now have pink fabric again!

A girly charm square quilt by Smiles Too Loudly

When choosing the prints for this quilt, I was trying to stay away from too baby-ish. I raided charm packs (Sew Stitchy was very fruitful), my scrap bin, fat quarters, really anything and everything I could get my hands on. Turns out I had more pink than I anticipated.

A girly charm square quilt by Smiles Too Loudly

For the quilting, I wanted to do something special. Special, but easy. And quick too. I went with a large paisley design, with a few hearts thrown in for good luck. Also, hearts are an easy way to fill in some of the pockets that form while quilting.

A girly charm square quilt by Smiles Too Loudly

What special quilt would be complete without a unicorn?

A girly charm square quilt by Smiles Too Loudly

A girly charm square quilt by Smiles Too Loudly

This quilt has been very, very well received by the little girl and her family.

And here’s a sneak peek of another pink quilt I made recently… I promise I’ll share that one soon!

A girly charm square quilt by Smiles Too Loudly

15 thoughts on “A Special Quilt

  1. Oh, what a lovely and generous gift to make and give, Sarah. I hope that it brings so much love, warmth, and support to someone who really needs it. And what a perfect backing fabric to have found (also: unicorn! love!).

  2. What a sweet, sweet quilt for a very special girl! Shhh–don’t tell everyone about our special Maine store 🙂 I am lucky enough to live within an hour of TWO of them. My only complaint about Marden’s is that it is so very easy to go into the store and find yourself coming back out several hours later.

  3. As someone who has had the luxury of seeing this quilt in person, I have to tell everyone that the pictures don’t tell the whole story. The variety of prints here is a delight to look through — I know the recipient will be tickled to receive such a fun and beautiful quilt! And it was a blast to watch you quilt it. I like the large paisley design a lot. I like it so much that I may give FMQ another go to see whether I can pull it off. Congratulations on a fabulous finish! : )

  4. MARDENS!! That means you were in Maine! There’s one about 35 minutes from where I live, and I visit there now and again, but I have to restrain myself since there are such great deals when you find the diamonds in the rough!! I LOVE that backing and have the same print in turquoise–it’s one of my favorites. Gorgeous quilt, even if it is pink. I hope it brings your coworker’s daughter comfort while she fights her way back to full health (prayers and well wishes headed her way!)

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

