Finishing is hard…

So, it’s been just a few days since I made my resolution to finish quilts rather than starting new ones. Which, per the laws of the universe, means I’m now flooded with ideas to start quilts.  It’s going to be a long, but satisfying year.

Instead of dwelling on all the things I “can’t” start, I’m going to dwell on all the pretties I can finish. Like this quilt.

Feed Company BOM for Gramma by Smiles Too Loudly

This one is for Gramma. I had meant to finish it by Christmas, but got distracted by the ribbons, glitter, eggnog, etc. Lucky for me, Gramma is a patient lady, and has a birthday soon.

Feed Company BOM for Gramma by Smiles Too Loudly

I don’t want to quilt it too much – the embroidery is too wonderful to distract from. So, I’m thinking simple spiral quilting on all the text sections, then accent feathers around the embroidered blocks. A big half feather in the grey border should round it out nicely.

Feed Company BOM for Gramma by Smiles Too Loudly

I chose a nice 1″ gingham for the back. You may be able to tell that I purposely skewed the quilt top.  Let’s face it, perfectly aligning the quilt top to that gingham grid on the back would have been a nightmare — and it probably would have shifted while quilting. This way, I’m not going to be upset at the end. It’s already skewed, any further distortion isn’t going to be noticeable.

Feed Company BOM for Gramma by Smiles Too Loudly

And of course, my quality inspector was nearby. Every time I tried to get him to move off the quilt, he’d just move to a different section… Oh well. At least it meets approval.

Feed Company BOM for Gramma by Smiles Too Loudly

Feed Company BOM for Gramma by Smiles Too Loudly

Feed Company BOM for Gramma by Smiles Too Loudly

I hope you’re not tired of this quilt… there’s probably at least two more photo dumps coming…

Feed Company BOM for Gramma by Smiles Too Loudly

13 thoughts on “Finishing is hard…

  1. Purposely skewing the back is a brilliant idea! I can’t tell you, well you probably know, how much time I spend trying to get the back to line up. Yay! and thank you!

  2. Makes me happy that this is the first quilt in your line up, can’t wait to see the finished product! No pressure LOL

  3. I applaud your new year’s resolution, my friend, and I’m looking forward to seeing this project wrapped up! But I’ve got to ask … do you really have enough WIPs to last you all year? How many UFOs are we talking about here?! No worries … I’ll be cheering you on as long as it takes. : )

  4. thankyouthankyouthankyou dearest Sarah! Super excited, now if you run out of time ….. don’t fret. I would gladly have twenty more birthdays to know you are tweaking, stitching, and enjoying sewing on this beautiful quilt we are sharing with the world! Sending you bushels of love, grammmmma

  5. The backing at an intentional angle is such great foresight! Can’t wait to see how you quilt this, I’m cheering you on to finish cause finishing is so much more challenging than starting!!

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

