Girly isn’t really my thing – A baby quilt

Those of you who have met me in real life are probably laughing hysterically at that title, because it is so true. I hardly ever wear makeup, dresses, jewelry, high heels. I don’t go get mani and pedis. Shopping is not a sport, well, unless it’s fabric shopping of course. But my dear, dear friend Marci was expecting a girl earlier this year. Her third child and first daughter, so something girly was in order. Insert wide eyed panic here.

A baby girl quilt, with a drunkard's path border, by Smiles Too Loudly

I went through several idea iterations… none of which were captured in photos. At the brilliant suggestion of Stephanie, I added yellow (duh), and ended up with this pull. It’s mostly from a fat quarter bundle of Summer Song I’ve had for ages (but not quite as long as the selvadge would indicate… maybe only since 2011?)

A baby girl quilt, with a drunkard's path border, by Smiles Too Loudly

Around the time I was considering my options curve quilts were all the rage, so I thought why not? Ummm, yeah. Those are 3″ squares, it was going to be a really long time till I did an entire quilt this way, even a baby quilt.

A baby girl quilt, with a drunkard's path border, by Smiles Too Loudly

And then I found this fabric in my stash. It’s a Masha D’yans print and the colors worked perfectly. I think it adds a little extra girly-ness too, but, hey, what would I know? I even managed to get Marci’s approval of it on Instagram – without having to reveal the secret!

From here it went pretty much like clockwork. I added a little extra border of white, then just happened to have the perfect amount of this Kate and Birdie print to make a decent sized quilt.

A baby girl quilt, with a drunkard's path border, by Smiles Too Loudly

I quilted it with spirals on the pieced section, and lots of feathers in the border. And of course, pink binding. Every little girl quilt needs pink binding right? It’s a little formulaic, but I do think it worked here.

A baby girl quilt, with a drunkard's path border, by Smiles Too Loudly

A baby girl quilt, with a drunkard's path border, by Smiles Too Loudly

Rounded corners just seemed to fit, so I traced around a dinner plate. Very high tech here in the Smiley Workshop.

A baby girl quilt, with a drunkard's path border, by Smiles Too Loudly

A baby girl quilt, with a drunkard's path border, by Smiles Too Loudly

The colors in this Briar Rose print just seemed to work perfectly for the back. It is now in the adorable little fists of Marci’s little girl, being loved and abused. Exactly as it should.

Trying to make a girly-girl quilt was quite the challenge for me. How do you deal with difficult design goals? Is there a certain style you struggle with?

9 thoughts on “Girly isn’t really my thing – A baby quilt

  1. My first thought…” Oh how cute it reminds me of going out for ice cream with Dad (Grandpa) when I was little.” Now it could be the how the semi circles move together, it could be the colors or perhaps it’s just the whimsy of the whole piece. Really doesn’t matter what sparked that memory, just know that your play [work] has yet sent me back in time once again… ahhh memories of childhood!

  2. It looks just perfect! I like that it isn’t baby. This will be something she will treasure for a long time! Love the fabrics you chose.

  3. I love making DP blocks but yes, they are time consuming. This is a great idea and prompts me to make DPs as an ongoing project! I recognized your fabric immediately as I still have some of that in my stash as well. 🙂

  4. I think the rounded corners and pink binding are great finishing touches, Sarah. I totally understand what you say about not being a girly-girl and struggling with lots of pink (it’s not my thing, either – also hooray for no makeup!). I think that just working through the discomfort and thinking a LOT about the person I am making for makes the process easier, but there are definitely some quilts that are just harder to summon up the energy to continue working on. I love the tree panel you found to compliment this piecing and I think Stephanie’s idea to add some yellow was the inspiration you likely needed. 🙂

  5. I LOVE this quilt!!! The off center floating style of the pieced part works SO well with the green, and the white border makes sure it stays the focus. Curved pink edges… All of it is perfect. I’m totally not a girly girl either. No make up (I admit I don’t even know how to put it on), no high heels, fancy dresses only for special occasions. I prefer getting dirty outside any day. When our first child ended up being a girl, we expressly said we did NOT want pink. So I get it. This quilt does a great job of balancing some pink with lots if green and white 🙂 bravo!

  6. I love girly-girl colours, and pink and green are a great combo. Well done for stepping out of your comfort zone.
    I really struggle with batiks and the dark, dark quilts, unrelieved by lighter, brighter colours. I find them gloomy. I have had to help make some as part of a group, so I just follow the instructions of those who like and understand that style. The recipients loved them, and that is the main thing.

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

