An Oceany Baby Quilt

Do you remember waaaaay back this spring when I mentioned I was working on several baby quilts? Yeah, probably not, but, this is one of them. I finally got my act together and sent it off… Apparently, trips to the post office are harder than basting a quilt.

A fun, oceany baby quilt, with improv borders and an icosahedron center, by Smiles Too Loudly

I started this back in February, according to the date stamps. The first iteration was this quick, improv, strip quilt top. Though hubby adored it, it left me a little meh. So, what’s a girl to do? Cut it up! And then let it sit in a pile for a few months…

A fun, oceany baby quilt, with improv borders and an icosahedron center, by Smiles Too Loudly

It was dug up for a quilting retreat project in April. Right around that time, I ran across Jessee Artschooldropout’s Icosahedron pattern, and knew it’d be perfect for the center of a medallion style baby quilt. The fussy cutting sealed the deal, as it usually does.

A fun, oceany baby quilt, with improv borders and an icosahedron center, by Smiles Too Loudly

I used the cut up pieces from February, and some more of the ocean friends fabric, and put it together in just a few hours.

A fun, oceany baby quilt, with improv borders and an icosahedron center, by Smiles Too Loudly

This was for my friend Laurie, who I’ve mentioned here before. I knew her children have an affinity for voile backed quilts, so I thought I’d try it for the first time… and the last time. I know it’s a popular choice out there in the quilty world, but I just don’t think it’s for me. I won’t say I’ll never try it again, but it’s going to be awhile.

A fun, oceany baby quilt, with improv borders and an icosahedron center, by Smiles Too Loudly

My basting helper didn’t seem to mind in the least…

A fun, oceany baby quilt, with improv borders and an icosahedron center, by Smiles Too Loudly

Because of my issues with the voile, I went with really simple quilting. Some squiggly lines and loopy stipple. (Very technical terms here).  Overall, I still love this quilt very, very much. And Laurie has already shared her love — I even got a picture of the baby on it! (Which is the best thing after you’ve made a baby quilt, wink, wink, nudge, nudge).

A fun, oceany baby quilt, with improv borders and an icosahedron center, by Smiles Too Loudly

I have one more baby quilt to share in a few days (and two more to make for 2016…)

4 thoughts on “An Oceany Baby Quilt

  1. Do I remember way back in spring? I barely remember what happened yesterday, when, ironically, I was attending a Christmas party with my grandmother and her Alzheimer’s group.
    I love the colours and the cute fabrics in this – in both versions. 🙂

  2. Hurray for another finished quilt and baby to enjoy it! I hate going to the PO, especially in December, so I totally agree. This quilt is so fun for a baby, lots of contrast and fun critters!

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

