A comfy, happy place

As expected, I can’t really maintain momentum on Calm and Serene. For some reason, calm is taxing. With a new job, taxing isn’t always what I’m looking for in this sewing addiction. So, I switched to quilting. Quilting is always my comfy, happy place.

Large Hexagon made of strings, offset on background by Smiles Too Loudly

Bad days, terrible drivers, ruined dinner… all made better by quilting.

Large Hexagon made of strings, offset on background by Smiles Too Loudly

You may remember this quilt, or you may not. I have trouble keeping up with them all some days… 2016 may be the year of “no new projects” we’ll have to see.

Large Hexagon made of strings, offset on background by Smiles Too Loudly

Matching all these thread colors means I’ve gotten really good at threading the Juki. Like, really good.

Large Hexagon made of strings, offset on background by Smiles Too Loudly

If you have eagle eyes, and an obsession for Anna Maria Horner, you may notice I used a couple of her prints in this. They work here. I might be coming around to AMH afterall. Just don’t get too excited, okay? This could just be a funk I’m in…

Large Hexagon made of strings, offset on background by Smiles Too Loudly

Large Hexagon made of strings, offset on background by Smiles Too Loudly

And the always needed shot of the back. Yes, it’s purple. Boy, I’m really stretching myself these days…

Large Hexagon made of strings, offset on background by Smiles Too Loudly

Where is your comfy, happy place? Does it involve quilting? Perhaps reading with a cup of cocoa?

10 thoughts on “A comfy, happy place

  1. LOL. Yes I see your AMH prints (Field Study and Hand Drawn Garden) and I’m shocked at your purple. I assume this quilt is not yours to keep. 😉 Quilting or improv piecing (usually the first one).make everything better on my end!

  2. Gorgeous fabrics – I bet this will be an awesome quilt when you’re done. Your FMQ is beautiful, and you are so gutsy to use such a bright contrasting color so the stitching shows up so well on the back. Well done!

  3. My comfy happy place is anywhere with Puppy the Cat curled up in my lap. Or in a hot bath. Or cuddled beside my husband. It can involve a quilt… but these days it usually involves someone or something warm to snuggle with. 🙂

    I love the change in thread color against the back. It will be a fun quilt from both sides!

  4. sometimes it’s piecing, occasionally it’s hand embroidery. Sometimes it’s a movie sometimes TV sometimes a book sometimes popcorn and most of the time chocolate.

  5. Interior designing & redesigning, creative splurges including antiques, fabric, drawing,…. and then there is reading & and looking at your quilts in awe………..so impressive. Are you sure you weren’t studying with famous seamstresses from long ago? Each of your quilts are wonderfully spirited & always colorful!

  6. Quilting is your happy place? I prefer piecing by far. I hope the new job doesn’t stay taxing for too long.
    My comfy place involves tea. Tea and a book. Tea and hand sewing and old movies, but always tea.
    I had several Anna Maria Horner prints arrive in a scrap pack today. I think I like them. They are totally out of my comfort zone, but I like them.

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

