Calm and Serene…

… are really not my “thing” as you are probably well aware. I go for bright, bold, you know, the things that smile too loudly. Every once in awhile, though, you need to stretch yourself. Well, that’s what I’ve heard. So I’m trying something new: calm and serene.Calm and Serene, improv pieced hexagons by Smiles Too Loudly

Calm and Serene, improv pieced hexagons by Smiles Too Loudly

Don’t worry, this is still my style of calm and serene. There are cats, scissors, bees, coffee cups, and upwards of 12 different prints.

beginnings

Hex ruler

I started by improv piecing several slabs, then cut-out 8 1/2″ hexagons using the Hex n More ruler. At first I was thinking of making an entire quilt of machine pieced hexagons, solid and improv ones That wasn’t turning out to be very calm or serene. So, new plan!  Machine piece a few of the hexagons into chunks of white space, then fill in as normal around until it’s done. I don’t really have a size I’m aiming for, except usable. Should we take bets on how big it’ll end up being?

Calm and Serene, improv pieced hexagons by Smiles Too Loudly

The main collection of fabrics came from a bundle I purchased last year from Lark Cottons. It was a winner of Rachel’s Ethereal contest. I filled in with a few others from my stash, though not all those pictured made it into the hexagons.

Calm and Serene, improv pieced hexagons by Smiles Too Loudly

I ended up with about 20 hexagons before I had to clean up my workspace to make Brake Lights. I keep finding little scraps scattered around though, so there may be more hexagons in the future. Or maybe I’ll just shove them in the scrap bin and forget about them for a few years. Maybe I’ll be better at calm and serene when I’m in my thirties?

Calm and Serene, improv pieced hexagons by Smiles Too Loudly

I just love this shot. Look at everyone playing happily! We have Carolyn Friedlander, next to a vintage calico, next to a batik, Zen Chic, linen, Sweetwater Co, Bonnie Christine… Everything is represented, and everything works together. Makes me really happy, and smile really loudly.

Calm and Serene, improv pieced hexagons by Smiles Too Loudly

Since I’ve been keeping this quilt out of Woody’s reach, I’ll have to leave you with a different kind of random shot…

Calm and Serene, improv pieced hexagons by Smiles Too Loudly

Linking to Sew Cute Tuesday, Let’s Bee Social, and WIP Wednesday

11 thoughts on “Calm and Serene…

  1. Haha yup calm and serene…totally your thing 😉 I’m loving the improv’d hexies, I can see this being one of those quilts you don’t know how to stop making but all that negative space will give you so much room to play with quilting!

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

