BQF: Somebody Told Me (Brake Lights)

Hi, and welcome to Smiles Too Loudly!!! It’s that time of year again — time to be envious of all the people at Quilt Market, and time to drool over all the entries in the Blogger’s Quilt Festival hosted by Amy’s Creative Side.

I know you have a lot of other quilts to go see, so I’ll make this as succinct as possible. That is not really one of my virtues though, so I might go on and on and on.

Brake Lights, a Moda Bakeshop Tutorial by Smiles Too Loudly

This is a quilt I made for the Moda Bake Shop, and you can find the tutorial here. Even though the name of the pattern is Brake Lights, my husband has named it Somebody Told Me. (My husband names all the quilts, otherwise we’d end up with boring names such as giant triangle in yellow.)

Brake Lights, a Moda Bakeshop Tutorial by Smiles Too Loudly

All of the prints in the quilt come from Bright Sun, a new collection by Sherri and Chelsi for Moda. The solids are coordinating Bella Solids in Goldenrod and Horizon Blue.  The whole collection is really really swoon worthy, at least to me. I even love the pinks, which if you’ve been around here for awhile, you’ll know that is hard to believe.

Brake Lights, a Moda Bakeshop Tutorial by Smiles Too Loudly

The blue field is quilted with figure eights that change in size as you go up the quilt, and the yellow space is quilted with straight lines of varying density. If you look closely you can even see that a few of the lines were done in hot pink. I wasn’t sure of that idea at the time, but now it’s one of my favorite features.

Brake Lights, a Moda Bakeshop Tutorial by Smiles Too LoudlyIn the effort of brevity, I’ll just leave you now with a few more pictures to look at. I hope you enjoy the festival!!!

Brake Lights, a Moda Bakeshop Tutorial by Smiles Too Loudly

Brake Lights, a Moda Bakeshop Tutorial by Smiles Too Loudly

Oh, I’m entering this into the Original Design Category. Ok, that’s all now for reals.

Woody Approves, Brake Lights, Smiles Too Loudly

Brake Lights, a Moda Bakeshop Tutorial by Smiles Too Loudly

5 thoughts on “BQF: Somebody Told Me (Brake Lights)

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

