Wanted: Sewing Motivation

Have you seen my sewing “mo-jo”? It seems to have ran away, again…

Thank you for all the wonderful comments and support on my Fabri-quilt Block tutorial!!! If I missed replying, please know I’m very sorry…that’s not usually like me.

I officially ended my Summer of Sarah Sewing by making a few deserving brides shower presents. Not quilts, but other pretties. And of course, completely forgot to take pictures of them, so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

I’m working on a little bit of secret sewing; I can’t show you the front, but I can show you the back right? It includes scraps from this and this mini, as well as from this baby quilt. Apparently, teal and gold are my colors this year — I think I’m okay with this. Pantone can keep its Marsala.

Improv quilt back using scraps from the front, and previous projects by Smiles Too Loudly

A few weeks ago my MIL’s father passed (which explains some of my recent absence), so she’s in need of a quilt. Currently, I’m being very nice and letting her borrow Play that Funky Music, but I’d like it back eventually… Here’s what I have so far:

Large Hexagon made of strings, offset on background by Smiles Too Loudly

I’m going to back it in a purple sheet I picked up at a linens outlet long ago. If you’ve never tried – do! Backing a quilt in a sheet is a quick, easy way to get a quilt back, especially if you don’t have the time or inclination to piece a back. Don’t just take my word for it — Amanda at A Crafty Fox uses sheets too!

Just because I can, and he's adorable
Just because I can, and he’s adorable

I think I just need a project to get excited about again… Any suggestions? How do you get out of a funk?

7 thoughts on “Wanted: Sewing Motivation

  1. Need inspiration? Turn to nature!! I go on a walk, breath in the fresh air and then I find a place to sit and ponder~taking in all the natural colors, landscapes and beauty. Use your “creative eye” and view the world and what it has to offer up around you. Need more ideas~give me a call, you know Christmas is right around the corner and I need ideas for you two!

  2. So sorry for the loss in your family. I’m also sorry to hear about your loss of sewjo. I don’t have a perfect recipe for finding sewjo again, but lately I have been really enjoying coloring. My husband gave me an adult coloring book and a lovely set of prismatic colored pencils (along with the wooden roller you recommended! score!) for my birthday, and that has been a nice thing.

  3. I’ve been a similar funk lately, and have been drawing and coloring–and for me that hasn’t helped. My sew-jo is all but gone this month! Where did it go? I literally had to clean the dust off my machine yesterday (yes I have a dust cover…did not think to use it, haha). I even went through many days of not even being interested in drawing or coloring! What is this funk of creativity?! I cleaning my sewing room, I purged some boxes of weird fabrics (like terry and velvet and random others someone had given me). Then I hung all the mini quilts eating up space on my design wall. Today I’m going to try just push through it and start cutting stuff up and hopefully the excitement of starting something new will help. Hope your sew-jo returns soon.

  4. My best way to kick myself out of a funk is to find something very small or very close to finished and finish it. There’s something about completing a project that seems to re-invigorate me. One time it was making myself a pin cushion. A really simple small win but it snapped me back into my sew-sew-self!

  5. My first quilt was backed in a sheet too. I rarely do it now as sheets can be so pricey here.
    I agree that your MIL needs a quilt. It looks amazing so far.
    I am also stunned by the BACK of the secret project. That is the back? Really?

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

