Basted and Ready to Quilt!

So since all the Summer of Sarah Sewing projects are for me, I don’t need to keep them a surprise. Which means I get to share progress pictures with you guys! It also means I take waaay to many pictures, but you don’t mind, right?

This has been waiting for quilting for nearly two years...
This has been waiting for quilting for nearly two years…

This is a quilt top I made back in September of 2013, and thank you smart phone for recording that for me. See, that’s before I even had a blog, or a fancy camera. I’m not even sure I was using Instagram yet. I just took pictures on my phone so I’d know how to sew it all together once I picked it up off the floor. Though, that shouldn’t be in past tense — I still do that.  The top is a pattern by Jeni Baker from the July/August ’13 issue of Quilty, called All Tied Up. It was pretty easy to put together (though I was terrible at making points match up two years ago), but the fabric requirements listed are very, very generous.

logo DSC_0463

Last week I made a back for this quilt, and accidentally deleted the pictures I took of it. Cue sad music please. You can see the wrong side of the back here, but I’m sure you’re far too distracted by how adorable my helper is. He really does try to help with every step of the process. Quality checks aren’t just for the end product, you know. He has to inspect every step along the way.

logo DSC_0468

I clearly have a thing for sunflowers, wouldn’t you say? I once tried to grow sunflowers as a kid… My aunt had sent me some seeds for Christmas, so I spent days prepping a section of the backyard. I planted the seeds, and watered them semi-faithfully, and waited for them to grow. And waited, and waited, and waited. Nothing. It’s now a family joke that I can grow anything, but sunflowers… I still maintain the birds ate the seeds and it had nothing to do with my abilities. That’s my story and I’m sticking with it. I still love sunflowers though.

logo DSC_0472

I think there is something wonderfully magical about a completely smooth, basted quilt top. I’m not sure what it is though. Maybe it’s just how much potential it holds, like those sunflower seeds. Thankfully, I don’t think birds are going to eat my quilt, nor does finishing it require on pesky things like weather, or consistent watering. Just some time, a little patience, and a lot of fun.

Choosing thread...
Choosing thread…

logo DSC_0481

All ready to quilt! I’ve always intended to do this as a bit of a free motion quilting sampler, but I need help! What are some of your favorite free motion quilting designs?

(Linked to Sew Cute Tuesday at Blossom Heart Quilts)

11 thoughts on “Basted and Ready to Quilt!

  1. Those are great colors! I love doing free motion quilting that’s different for each block. Figure of eight or random stars and hearts are usually my go to, but I love the look of pebbles. I just hate doing them! 🙂

  2. I love that you are busting through your projects this summer. As far as quilting patterns I love… I had fun playing around with some dot to dot recently and you might want to try it out in the white triangles. I also love ribbon candy, wishbones, loops, spirals, spiral hooks, back and forth lines (rounded ends), and one day I will conquer feathers (just not yet). 😉 I hope you have fun quilting!

  3. Ahhh I am so happy you are one step closer to finishing this one! For me it stirs fond memories of Gramma (Mom), I and your Mom in the garden at the old Poway home. Then enter more wonderful memories of your Mom & I playing in the fields just up behind the old house. Perhaps it’s the colors or the prints you chose, but either way I love it! With this in mind I might lean towards more of the wood grain around the perimeter and then loopy loose swirls for the interior. Even maybe hiding a few stars or sunflowers here and there. Obviously I am a bit taken with this one. *smooches* for another job well done!

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

