I Fought an Octopus!

I have been, ahem, hoarding a fat quarter bundle of Tula Pink’s Saltwater, since it came out a few years ago. Since then, I’ve been on the lookout for the right quilt pattern.

DSC_0395 logo

Finding the right pattern has been a long, laborious hunt. I wanted something that truly showed off the beauty of the fabrics, so it needed to have large pieces. I didn’t want something so complicated you saw the pattern before you saw the fabrics. And I wanted something with a bit of a classic appeal to it, so I would never fall out of love or regret using my precious fabric. It was worth waiting until I found the right pattern.

DSC_0409 logo

Recently, such a pattern was published. Hurray! Cheryl, of Meadow Mist Designs, recently published her pattern called Grande Scrappy Tiles, an upsized version of her Scrappy Tiles. (I got to meet Cheryl in person at QuiltCon and she’s just awesome!!! Seriously, look at her patterns – they’re clearly written, and really nicely done.) With big giant pieces, the fabric is really going to be shown off, and I was even able to fussy cut some of the cuter elements, like the octopi and submarines. Big smiles and happy dances going on here this week.

DSC_0434 logo

For the first time ever, I cut out all the pieces for the entire queen size quilt. Usually, I opt to cut as I go, but this was actually super, super easy. Cheryl includes great cutting diagrams in the pattern, and it went super fast. That picture above is all the pieces. It looks so small to be an entire queen size quilt…

Here are the first four blocks:

DSC_0457 logo

I added a few solids, and semi solids (a Lizzy House print!) to give a little more room for the gorgeous fabrics to breathe.  I’m so, so very excited to get this finished!!!

What sewing projects have made you super excited lately?

Linking to WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

11 thoughts on “I Fought an Octopus!

  1. How awesome that you found the perfect pattern to use for your treasured prints. I know that I definitely try to find the “just right” design for some of my favorites, too. I really like the use of your solids and semi solids to help let the awesome Tula prints shine, and I am so excited to see it come together – hooray for selfish sewing!!! 🙂

    I am currently super excited about the giant swoon quilt I just finished. I really love it and for a challenge quilt, that makes me feel so happy and like a winner no matter what.

  2. That is a pretty awesome stack of hoarded Tula Pink! I made two Salt Water quilts when the line first came out (a coral twin sized for my daughter and an aqua queen sized for my brother). I still love that line as a whole more than any others from TP. Love the other fabrics you’ve included!

  3. What a great pattern to showcase fabrics! I love the blocks you’ve assembled so far – that pink octopus in the block on the bottom right of the picture immediately caught my eye, so I think you’ve done a great job picking a pattern that showcases fabrics and not the pattern! I don’t like all of Tula’s stuff (sometimes I feel like a blasphemer in the quilting world when I write those words!) but I really do love the Salt Water line!

  4. I’m so glad you found the perfect project for those beautiful prints. I can be so hard to cut into gorgeous fabric, but you’re going to enjoy those fabrics so much more in that lovely quilt!

  5. That’s a great pattern that will really show off the lovely prints. I love the octopus fabric and made my daughter a dress with it. When she grows out of it I think I’ll repurpose the fabric as I’d hate to say goodbye to it.

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

