Modern Batiks?

Have you heard this before:  You can’t mix batiks with modern prints.

DSC_0526

I’m not a big fan of rules in quilting, beyond the basic ones of good solid construction. As far as artistry, anything goes in my book. Civil war reproductions, batiks, solids, popular modern designers, Kaffe Fasset, and fun novelty fabrics all have space on my shelves. If I like it, I buy it.

DSC_0530

Recently, I came across a stack of coordinated batiks I purchased awhile ago. When I saw them, I knew they’d go perfectly with a Tula Pink print I scored at a discount a few years ago. So, for the last few days I’ve been slowly making a few flying geese here and there. It’s a lot calmer than I tend to go, but I really like it.

DSC_0521 edited pic monkey

What do you think? Do you mix batiks in with other fabrics?

8 thoughts on “Modern Batiks?

  1. Yes, I totally rock the batiks on occasion. They are wonderful blenders and I love working with them – they finger press like a dream and have a great feel (in my opinion). I know there are people who feel strongly the other way, but sometimes you just can’t beat a good batik!! 🙂

  2. Ooooh I like this a lot! I do love a good batik, and mix them all helter skelter with whatever I think looks good. I didn’t know that batiks have a polarizing reaction from people (love or hate them) and weren’t supposed to be mixed with other fabrics until I’d already been doing it for years and knew the quilt police were just a bunch of ghosts quoting rules to make themselves feel better for the way they’d always been doing it.

  3. My cousin and I were just talking about this 🙂 There are some good looking batiks out there and some ugly ones. I don’t mix them with modern prints much as many batik prints don’t seem to match (the same style). I think it’d be cool if they were used more in “modern” quilting. It’d be nice to see them used outside of the traditional realm.

  4. I’m coming around to batiks, especially because their colors are often so bright and saturated. I say go for it! Love that Tula print – I’m hoarding my last little bit in the navy colorway.

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

