Finished: Woodland Improv baby quilt

It’s very hard to believe it’s June already, but June it is! Today I’m sharing another baby quilt I made recently. It’s the second woodland inspired baby quilt I’ve made (first is here) but it’s so very very different. At least I think so.

Woodland Improv

I started with a few wonky log cabin blocks, thinking I’d do the entire quilt that way. Well, it turns out that wonky log cabin blocks are kind of boring. I think if I was working from scraps, I might have enjoyed the process more, but I was trying to challenge myself to use just a limited color palette, and only a few fabrics. Since I wasn’t allowing myself to add more colors or more fabrics, the only other options were to either slog it out with the log cabins, or add more blocks. I’m not one for slogging.

The first few log cabin blocks
The first few log cabin blocks

I kept adding different kinds of blocks, and fussy cutting deer, just really making whatever I felt like at the time. Then the giant jigsaw that is an improv quilt came — and it was so much fun to try to fit all the pieces together! (That’s not sarcasm, it really was fun!).

Taped up on the design wall
Taped up on the design wall
The finished flimsy
The finished flimsy

Around the same time the top was finished, “Hello, Bear” was released, and we know how much I love Bonnie Christine! So it was a perfect, and very logical choice for the back of the quilt. Since the top was so busy, I wanted to keep the quilting simple, just an easy loopy meander. ย I always forget how quickly light, easy quilting goes — especially on a baby sized quilt. I was done in the matter of an afternoon, which is almost a record for me.

Woodland Improv, side detail

Hello Bear! Hello Doe! Hello Owl!
Hello Bear! Hello Doe! Hello Owl!

For the binding I did the ‘brave’ thing and cut it on the bias. I knew from nearly the beginning that I wanted to use that great dark grey vine print from Simply Color. It’s been in my stash for eons, and it really, really complemented the quilt and woodland theme beautifully. However, cut straight on, I was worried about the print lining up, and how much you would see of the leaf detail. On the bias though, it looks great! Bias binding really wasn’t that hard. I did try the “magical” approach, but it was honestly just easier to cut it on the bias, then join the strips together, like a normal binding.

Can you see how cute the bias binding is?
Can you see how cute the bias binding is?

Woodland Improv

I forgot to take final dimensions (I really need to remember to do that someday!), but the back was a 1.5 yard cut, and I had very little left over. So, rough estimate, the quilt is about 40″ x 50″, at least before washing. ย The quilt is off in its new home, and I’m sure will be snuggled constantly.

Woodland Improv

 

Linking with Crazy Mom Quilts for Finish It Friday.

9 thoughts on “Finished: Woodland Improv baby quilt

  1. Both sides are dramatically different & the binding is perfect! What a delight and a keeper. Your creativity is amazing!! Happy you are enjoying yourself and feeling scrappy…………

  2. That magical approach to bias binding looks like too much effort… and if I have to keep referring to a tutorial to learn where to put my binding pieces then I’d be better off just cutting strips and jointing them too!

    Your quilt came out great! I think the diamond shaped/on point one in the middle gives the quilt that little bit of oomph ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. So pretty! I feel like the one block set on point really makes this quilt, it adds such interest. And the deer fabric is adorable! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Now you have realised how easy bias binding is, you will never go back. I have been shown all sorts of methods, but – like you – I think just cutting strips and sewing them together is the easiest method of the lot.
    I love the randomness of this. At the same time, your fabric choices bring it all together.

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

