Diamonds of Friendship

A few years ago, I decided to join my local guild, then waited a few more months to work up the nerve to actually attend. The first meeting I went to I met Laurie, plus a few other great people, but today’s story is about Laurie. If you’ve met Laurie, you can skip ahead a little bit, as you already know this, but for others — Laurie is awesome. She’s super super nice (seriously the most tactful person I know), funny, and really supportive. She’s the reason you are reading this and kind of the reason I’m a social quilter at all. So when she proposed we do a private mini swap a few months ago, there wasn’t a single hesitation in my yes.

Snow banks are very handy for holding a quilt at camera level.
Snow banks are very handy for holding a quilt at camera level.

Then came the worry. I’m sure there are others of you who have experienced this; I was sending a quilt to a quilter, and a quilter who I admired greatly. “Was it going to be good enough?” played through my head over and over and over, and the deadline got closer and closer and closer. I finally just bit the bullet and went with it. (Spoiler: she loved it!)

Pretty roses that tie in all the colors -- and hides any quilting issues.
Pretty roses that tie in all the colors — and hides any quilting issues.

I knew that Laurie and I shared a love of Blue Elephant Stitches, and she had this quilt pinned on Pinterest. It felt like a great place to start, so I drafted a paper piecing template to get me to about the size I wanted. Here’s the other hiccup though – Laurie loves AMH and pink. Pink! (See further journeys with pink here.) AMH and pink do not exactly hold a prominent fixture in my stash. But this is Laurie! I can do this!

DSC_0572

Lately I’ve been watching a lot of Angela Walters Craftsy classes, and I’m pretty sure it’s altered my brain chemistry — I want to densely quilt all the things. With the negative space on this mini, densely quilting was actually going to work, and be shown off! For added fun/difficulty, let’s add ghost shapes! Why not? There are straight lines (in yellow!) down the diamonds, clamshells on the right, and pebbles with spirals on the left.

Laurie loves Matryoshkas, so I had to include one. :)
Laurie loves Matryoshkas, so I had to include one. 🙂

I even hand sewed the binding down, because that’s what you do for really good friends. And, well, it was a mini. 😀

Don't mind the wet spot, it was snowing when I took these.
Don’t mind the wet spot, it was snowing when I took these.

I’m so, so very happy you loved the quilt Laurie. ❤

(you can see the gorgeous mini Laurie made me on her blog, here. I haven’t gotten my act together enough to photograph it properly)

16 thoughts on “Diamonds of Friendship

  1. So glad you included your signature touches of yellow in the mini, and the quilting is amazing! I am glad you jumped in despite the worries and self-critcism (and yup, we all totally do that).

  2. LOVE this so much! I know what you mean – once I started densely quilting, I couldn’t go back. I always want to quilt everything to death! Your quilting looks absolutely stunning and I love those ghosties! Great colors! I want to see what she made you!

  3. I totally love that you used that diamonds quilt as your inspiration. This quilt has got me thinking about finally diving into my huge hoard of Lizzy House Constellations!!! Thanks again for all of your generosity.

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

