Sooo, I was at QuiltCon

I was. I swear. I’m terrible at having my picture taken, by me or others, so there’s not really any photographic proof anywhere (that I’ve seen anyway). But I really was there!!!

DSC_0371

Real life hit me hard when I returned from Texas, so this post is a little behind the rest of the blogosphere. As in a monthย behind. So, if you’re tired of hearing about QuiltCon, feel free to skip this post. I won’t mind at all. Of course, I won’t really know, so how could I mind, but semantics aside….

DSC_0370

Seeing quilts online or on Instagram is nowhere near the same as seeing them in person. For one thing, scale doesn’t translate well at all. At all. I can’t tell you the number of times I saw a quilt and went, oh, that’s smaller/larger than I thought. Also, the colors? Soooo much better in person. And we’re not even going to touch on the texture of the quilting, because that one is obviously much harder to see on a little phone screen.

DSC_0369

DSC_0346

People sound differently in person than in my head. I know this is coming as a shock to most of you, but after ‘talking’ with someone online for months, and in some cases years, they sound a certain way to you. And then you meet them in person, and it might not be the same. Some people were spot on (way to go imagination!) and some people were so wildly different, it seemed nearly impossible. But everyone has been duly adjusted with my internal speakers, so now I can look forward to reading emails from people in the proper voices.

DSC_0345

DSC_0220

Those, possibly obvious, things aside, the quilts were amazing. I may not agree with all that were chosen, or how they were categorized, or the winners (and if we’re honest with each other, none of us does), but they all had merits and they were all inspiring. I don’t need to like a quilt to find the skills/techniques/quilting/color choices wonderful. I don’t like every painting in a museum either, doesn’t mean it doesn’t deserve to be in a museum. It also means I don’t envy the job of curating anything. ๐Ÿ˜€

DSC_0071

DSC_0070

This isn’t the last you’ll see or hear about QuiltCon for me, but it might be the only dedicated post (or maybe not, who knows!). There were so many inspiring quilts, and as those inspirations trickle into my work, I’ll try to include them here!! Hopefully, you won’t be tired of the phrase “I saw this at QuiltCon” anytime soon, because I have a feeling it might appear often.

And one last thing, if you ever get a chance to meet quilty friends in person, do it! I promise you won’t regret it. And those friendships will probably turn out even stronger for that in-person hug. ๐Ÿ˜€

11 thoughts on “Sooo, I was at QuiltCon

  1. Hahaha I felt exactly the same about people voices and accents! Even the way people looked in person wss sometimes quite different then the photos

  2. Hahaha I felt exactly the same about people voices and accents! Even the way people looked in person was sometimes quite different then their photos.

  3. Please share more about QuiltCon! I love to read everyone’s stories. Since I had to stay home with the baby, I need to live it through others!

  4. Great point about the voices! So funny. Also love your description of the show and what got in, etc. I feel the same way. So great to meet you! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. No need for photographic evidence – I saw you there and got a hug (or two?)! Yay! ๐Ÿ™‚ You are so right about voices and seeing quilts in person. Do you think you’ll go to Pasadena next year? After being a bit on the fence, I am now excited to be a super volunteer for next year. We’ll see what happens…

  6. I can’t believe I missed you Sarah! The voice thing was especially funny for me being from Australia – you all have an Aussie accent in my head so the reality was completely different, lol!

  7. I don’t think we took a picture together or anything. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but you are totally right about voices and personalities, but I was so glad to meet you in person!

  8. So glad you got to attend. Thank you for sharing your pictures, yes they even inspire me to continue on with my lofty ideas in my quilting adventure. Being back in reality does have it limits, however in our imagination we are always playing with textures, combinations and patterns. Hugs sweetie! Auntie W

  9. I am reminded of many art shows, participated in or viewed, always a mystery how some were honored and others overlooked. What a challenge for any judge! So happy you went & enjoyed.

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

