2015 Finish Along Q1

So, it’s become abundantly clear lately that I have a WIP management…situation, to put it nicely. πŸ˜€ So I think I’m going to join in on the 2015 Finish Along, hosted at On the Windy Side, as a way to motivate myself to finish the things I want to. Anyone want to bet on how “good” I’ll be at this? πŸ˜€

So the things I’d like to finish before March 31:

1. Secret green quilt – not very descriptive, but it’s a secret! Should be putting the binding on soon, so this is my easy one. Like putting “drink coffee” on a to-do list. πŸ˜€
2. Dr. Seuss baby quilt – currently the pieces are cut, but they need to be pieced, basted, and quilted.
3. Voile Infinity Scarf to wear to QuiltCon…so it has to be done before Feb 18!!! It’s all cut and ready to go, I just got sidetracked.
4. Mini for my swap with Laurie at Dresden Lane – fabric pulled, idea finalized, but a secret…
5. Woodland baby quilt #2. Fabric pulled, pattern chosen, just need to clear off enough space to start cutting.
6. Finish binding on my do.Good stitches quilt, now that its over a year late…yup, it’s that late and I just need to finish half the binding. Yes, my tail is between my legs with admitting this…. Time to get it done!!!
do.Good Quilt Top
7. Baste and quilt the orange do.Good quilt that is seriously in danger of being a year late. As you can tell, I’m not good at keeping up with deadlines…Let’s change that this year!!
2014-05-26 09.57.51
8. And so we can air all the shame out at once… Piece and finish the blue do.Good quilt from July… I have all the blocks, and a plan, just have to commit and finish it up!

So now that we’re all tsking and finger shaking over my 6,7, and 8th goals… What’s the most shameful project hiding in your closet? Inquiring minds need to know these things!!

13 thoughts on “2015 Finish Along Q1

  1. 1. Drink more coffee! Yep that’s always #1 on my list
    2. Ok I have finally finished piecing the King sized scrap quilt~scratch that still have two more sections to stitch together. Then it’s coming up with a backing, binding and quilting this huge beauty…promise to send you pictures.
    3. Figure out which direction I plan on taking my quilting. That is do I dive head first into the rigid rules of blocks & patterns or keep on my crazy piecing escapades?!
    4. Is there enough time in the day to do all the things I want to do? Don’t answer that!

    ~sending you lots of smiles across the miles…Aunty Wendy ❀

  2. Last April I took a sample swoon block I had made and divided that I should make it into a lap quilt for my dad, because he is impossible, IMPOSSIBLE, to buy for and it was his birthday. So, for his birthday I showed it to him and told him my plan, because of course it wasn’t ready… I think I’ve added one border since then, oops, but since I just finished returning ALL of his Christmas presents, (he’s”greatful I thought of him, but doesn’t need this stuff”) maybe I should get on finishing that, because he sure couldn’t return it πŸ˜‰

  3. Shameful project? Hmmm… I have a WiP I started years ago that is going to turn into something else. I’ve already stolen most of the fabric from the bin and repurposed it, so I just have to decide if I am going to deal with the pieces I already sewed together or just chuck that bad boy. πŸ˜‰

  4. We’ve all had the 1+ year later finishes. Just did one a couple weeks ago myself (and to think I still haven’t psoted the blog on that finish either!) Good luck with your finishes, I hope there’s a mid-quarter link up so we can all make sure to cheer each other on to the finish!

  5. I started a quilt for my mom, maybe even two years ago now, that I still haven’t finished. I have had the top done forever and the backing is purchased, but she wants FMQ that I know I just don’t have the skills for. So I am stuck deciding if I just keep waiting for my skills to develop or just do something else with the quilting so that it can just. be. done.

  6. You can do it!!!! All of it!!!

    I have a quilt lurking from early 2013 made from Lucy’s Crab Shack I keep looking at. It would be a quick finish if I actually, you know… finished it. Maybe I’ll add it to my list next quarter…

  7. I have two knitting projects that have been sitting around for over six years. One, a scarf, needed to be cast off and its threads buried. The other, a baby blanket, just needed its threads buried. (Can you believe that?) The baby it was intended for is now 6, so it’s going to be his Pooh Bear’s blanket instead. : )

    Finish those projects up, girl! You can do it!

  8. The most shameful project in my cupboard? Just one?! Probably the half-quilted crazy quilt (five years?), or the dress that will only take thirty minutes to rehem and has been sitting by my sewing table, waiting, for close to two years.

  9. Oh man- all of my WIPS and deadlines have been on my mind too! It’s a little overwhelming. I am due to write a post like this and get organized. Good luck with yours! Still so excited about our swap but I have no idea what I am doing for you yet.

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

