Finished: Bailey Squares

2014-08-18 16.21.54

Whew! This one was a beast. That’s probably not really the best way to start a post, but honest at least.  Also, please note the unimaginative name – the hubs doesn’t like naming quilts we don’t get to keep, so we’re left with what I can come up with. The fabric is mostly Heather Bailey, and they’re squares. Ta-da!

2014-08-18 16.26.41

So this quilt started with a request from a friend of my husband’s cousin – a patchwork quilt to use at her wedding. Not too much input on size, or color, just simple patchwork. The wedding colors were a light purple and blue, so I went with Heather Bailey’s newest (at the time) collections — Lottie Da and True Colors.  A charm pack of each, plus one of neutrals, toss in a little stash and I’ll be golden, right? [insert evil maniacal laughter here]

2014-07-04 10.07.00

Turns out, not all charm packs are the same size. They weren’t so far off that I noticed while sewing late at night, but just far enough that when I started to sew rows together, there were some noticeable scant seams. [Now insert swearing]

2014-07-26 17.14.58-1

So I did what all frustrated quilters do – eat chocolate and grab the starch can. I starched all the defiance out of the pieces I had sewn, and trimmed where I could to full 1/4″ seams on the rows. So the squares, well, they’re not really squares, but an 1/8″ is hardly noticeable. I was still very worried about those seams though. If this had been a quilt for me, it would have been no big deal.  I can fix busted seams 4 years down the road. This quilt wasn’t for me, it was going out into the world with my name on it; I couldn’t let poor craftsmanship escape.

2014-08-18 16.17.49

Enter the help from Instagram — Quilt it to death. I’m not sure if I quilted it to death, or just into submission, but if any of those seams ever bust open, they can only travel about 1/2″ at most. At very, very  most.

2014-08-18 16.17.55

After that it went, well not smoothly, but smoother. Turns out quilting dense paisleys (or clamshells depending on what you call them) is not easy on the wrists or shoulders. But its done. Done. Done.

2014-08-18 16.23.38

Done.

2014-08-18 16.26.49

Done.

2014-08-18 16.23.22

Done.

2014-08-18 16.17.08

 

Stats:

224 5″ squares

8 spools of thread

1 sheet from Target

5/8 yd of Kona Lime binding

#$^&###^##&^*# hours

42 ibuprofen

6 bowls of ice cream (chocolate of course)

1 can of spray starch

2 Tula Pink prints

1 AMH print

3 batiks

1 Kaffe Fasset

2 Pearl Bracelets

2 Denyse Schmidt

2 Glimma

1 Zen chic

1 Charcoal Solid

# I can’t remember at all…

2014-08-18 16.23.41 -edit

And one very happy bride. Though her groom might have had a small part in that. I can’t claim all the credit.

2014-08-18 16.23.48

17 thoughts on “Finished: Bailey Squares

  1. I loled at your stats. Just goes to show how long a “simple” project can take… I feel your pain. If it counts for anything, the final product is lovely! That’s such a pain about the charm squares though.

  2. I was waiting for the partridge in a pear tree at the end of your count 😉 i need to look in this flat-sheet for a backing business. I just wish more sheets came in patterns rather than plain colours!

  3. I’m so happy – thanks to you I now know its okay – and probably mandatory – to add my chocolate binges to my quilt stats!! 🙂 Don’t you hate when a “simple” little quilt will try its hardest to get the best of you? Congrats on the finish – it looks great!

  4. I love the 42 ibuprofen in the list of ingredients. Thank you for the inspiration. I have 2 of those Heather Bailey charm packs waiting for a good idea and this may well be it – just sew them together with some added solids (and a few bits of Kaffe I spot there too).

  5. THAT many hours and ibuprofen?! Quilting it to death was a good idea. I doubt it will ever have the cheek to come apart.
    Your husband’s ‘no naming’ rule reminded me of when I was a child; we were not allowed to name the goats that were destined for the dinner table. Not quite the same …

  6. Actually, I kinda really like it! I love the colours, the simplicity of squares, and then all your wonderful dense quilting! (Your stats made me laugh, but don’t have too many brufen… long term side effects!) L

  7. Simple patchwork can be beautiful especially when you pick such wonderful colors and prints as you did. I love Target sheets for quilt backings too!

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

