Finished! – BMQG Swap

I’m going to start by saying I love being part of a local guild (so much I joined another one, and am starting yet another!). You get to meet so many great people, and really get to know them. We all tend to edit on the internet (I, for one, swear much, much more in real life). And there’s all the great people who don’t have blogs! So to get to make something for one of your real life quilty friends is awesome!

Scenic Shot

This was the hardest thing to give away. I loved every bit of the outcome (and the process) so much, I really wish I had a replicator so I could have an exact copy of my own. Hopefully, it will be loved more in its new home.

Angle shot

For the swap I lucked out with Zuzka. There’s been so many new members of the BMQG I was worried that I was going to draw someone I had barely ever talked to! She had asked for something to hang on the wall to hold sewing needles. So, all those text fabrics – those are pockets. Nine in total. I hope that’s enough! The pattern was something I worked out to work with size limitations and the need for pockets, but it was based on this great quilt.

Close up

I really wanted to push myself on the quilting. I’m sure I’m not the first person to think that just because its small, it’ll be easy to densely FMQ. I saw Laura doing a square boxy stipple at our retreat earlier this year, and thought it would compliment the aqua sections nicely. It does, but Laura, did you have to make it look so easy? It was HARD. By comparison, the pebbles were easy! Maybe I just can’t quilt with right angles, but from all the hype on the internet, I really expected pebbles to be the difficult ones.

Overall shot

I bound it with Ashley‘s tutorial – again. I just cannot get enough of how crisp, clean, and easy she made machine binding. It took me longer to cut and iron the binding than get it sewn on.

See that corner?
See that corner?

Now we’re going to test my memory skills and see if I can name all the fabrics. It’s like Where’s Waldo for quilters. πŸ˜€

Pink: Kona Punch (the best and only pink for me!)
Aquas: Cuzco and Daydreams by Kate Spain; Birds and Bees by Tula Pink; PB&J by Basic Grey; Type from Julia Rothman; Lucy’s Crab Shack by Sweetwater; Crabtastic by Maude Asbury; a DS print; Anne Kelle Remix by Robert Kaufman; Chantilly by Lauren and Jessi Jung. Did I get them all?
Texts: Dictionary Print from Sew Mama Sew by Sweetwater, in cream and red; Polka Dot Stitches by Lori Holt, in blue and red; Black Architextures by Carolyn Friedlander; White Madrona Road text by Violet Craft; Sunprint text in pink and blue by Allison Glass; and Headliner by Blank Textiles.

Whew, that was a work out! Well, for my memory, I don’t think it did much for my thighs.

See the airplane?
See the airplane?

I stopped at a local park to take pictures and it turned out someone was flying a model plane! I managed to get a shot of the quilt with the plane, and that just made my day. What can I say, I’m easily amused.

In case you missed the plane, and really want to see it….
Plane

Zuzka, I hope you love my your wall hanging, and it fits all your needles. I truly enjoyed making it for you.

2014-05-20 15.48.30

Linking up with Finish it Friday.

16 thoughts on “Finished! – BMQG Swap

  1. This is just awesome. You’re getting really great at FMQ. Excellent work on this quilt. Pebbles Fmq looks harder but is lot more fun and forgiving than other FMQs. Have fun!

  2. Oooh, this looks fabulous! I love the quilt pattern, and even more so that it has pockets! And Kona Punch? Yum! I have never seen this Kona in person, but it seems like it would be right up my alley! πŸ™‚

  3. Kona Punch, love. Text fabric, love. Utility, love. This is a winner! Great work, Sarah. It’s so funny, that boxy stipple was the first fmq I felt confident doing, and I continue to find it the easiest pattern. I can’t do curves very well or regular stipple. I’m a weirdo.

  4. I wish I had a guild closer to me. It’s just a couple towns away. Not terribly far about 25-30 minutes. They seem like such fun. Great idea for a needle holder, they’re sure to love it! I’ve had one I made that I also wanted to keep πŸ™‚

  5. I really love the look of this quilt and now I’m going to be looking out for Kona Punch. Thanks for that tip!

  6. Ooooh pretty. That Kona Punch really is punchy!! But no yellow? πŸ˜‰

    I’m sending you everything and anything I want pebble quilting on, k.

  7. And it has pockets! You are just too resourceful and cool. I love it. The pebbles are super cute. I may have to try that on a quilt in the near future. You’re the second one I’ve seen today use it really effectively. Glad to have found your blog.

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

