BQF – Take the A-Train

Hello! This is my first time participating in the Blogger’s Quilt Festival over at Amy’s Creative Side, though I’ve been a lurker admirer for a long time.

Finished - Take the A-Train

If you’ve been here before, you’ve seen this quilt. I think I’ve shared this quilt everywhere but the 6 o’clock news report, so I apologize now if you have already been blinded (not by science though, I never apologize for that), but I have new pictures for you!

This was my Riley Blake Challenge quilt. We (all who signed up) were given a bundle of fabric to use in anything quilted. That can be a little overwhelming at first, but exciting too. Since we were allowed to add any solids, that’s what I did. Eleven shades of yellow later (yes, 11!), and weeks of long nights and brain wracking later, I had this:

not the best photo - I know
not the best photo – I know

I really tried to go for a random look, without any one seam going the entire width or length of the quilt. So there were lots of partial seams, and one inset seam. It was a challenge, so I have to do the hard things, right?

Then it was time to quilt it. πŸ˜€ I had an idea of how to quilt it – I wanted it to look like rectangular stones had been dropped into my pool of sunshine, and the ripples were overlapping. Now I realize that in the actual physical world, the ripples of one stone would die out long before I managed to drop the others (and wouldn’t have right angles to them), but this is a quilty world – we can defy physics a little.

Such great texture - yum!
Such great texture – yum!

The binding choice was a little difficult, but in the end I went with Kona Storm. Which, if you’re wondering, is the perfect shade of navy blue. Blue enough that you can tell its blue when you’re sewing at 10pm, but dark enough that it you can tell its navy.

On the fence

This quilt now lives on my bed, snuggled with me and the cat every night. It’s cheered me up when I was sick and sad. It kept me warm through that miserably cold end of winter we had. I love this quilt.

With the shed

On the name: my husband has declared himself official quilt namer. Its a very important job I’ve been told, and he spent almost as much time as I did making the quilt, thinking of a name for it. His thought process was this: It’s an improv quilt, so it had to be named after an improv jazz song. But, because I’m an engineer, incapable of not doing right angles, it wasn’t a mastery of improv, but a riff on a standard. So the name should reflect this. But I did my own thing, using yellow as a background color, so the name should also reflect that. Confused yet?

My little spot of sunshine
My little spot of sunshine

He finally decided that “Take the A-Train” by Ella Fitzgerald would be perfect. It was originally an instrumental song, but she added words to it so she could skat. Apparently, this was one of the first songs my husband learned to riff on in his guitar lessons. And it’s a happy song, so that doesn’t hurt. πŸ˜€

Overall

Final Stats:

Fabric: Riley Blake Challenge bundle
11 shades of yellow

Batting: Quilter’s Dream Orient

Thread: Aurifil (3 shades of yellow, though you can’t really tell)

Binding: Kona Storm, machine bound with Wasn’t Quilt in a Day’s tutorial

Entered into the Modern category at the Blogger’s Quilt Festival

23 thoughts on “BQF – Take the A-Train

  1. I love the first photograph – the pop of bright color on a winter day can help warm anyone up! I think your choice for the binding was superb, too. Good luck in the festival.

  2. I love your yellow quilt and the quilting adds great texture. The outdoor photos are so nice as well. I’ve started taking more outdoor shots when I can.

  3. I must follow you on Instagram! I’ve loved seeing this quilt in the user profile pic (please excuse me if I’m totally confused). This quilt is absolutely fantastic and inspiring – I want to make one in blues!!!

  4. Lovely. I don’t have that many yellows in my stash, I’m more a reddish girl. But my house is painted in all shades of yellow-orange. You inspire me to try this color in the future.

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

