A day late….or more…

I had hoped to get this posted in time to join the link for May with the A Lovely Year of Finishes. Jo suggested it as a way of keeping track of WIPs, and I like the idea of one focused goal for the month.

So, even though it won’t qualify me for any prizes, here’s my one goal for May: eat more cake.

Oh, wait, that’s not a quilty goal. Hmmm, let’s try this again.

Finish February’s do.Good Stitches quilt.

Up on the makeshift design wall - one more block needed
Up on the makeshift design wall – one more block needed

Ok, that’s better. I asked the wonderful ladies of Promise group to make me 16″ square HST triangle blocks, using orange as the ‘background’ and blue, gray, and green as the foreground.

Let's get a little closer, hmmm?
Let’s get a little closer, hmmm?

I think some kid is going to love this quilt. I love this quilt, and some days I could almost qualify as a kid. I’ve been watching a quilting class on Craftsy, and really, really want to try spirals, ala Angela Walters. I think this is going to be the perfect quilt to try it on. A.) its on the smaller side (for me lately anyway) and B.) with all that busyness, no one will see any imperfections. πŸ˜€ Win, win.

I’ve also decided to give Aurifil another chance. I ran across an article in American Quilter, that said I was using the wrong size needle for 50wt thread. So we’ll see if it changes my mind.

A drawing Jo did of our quilt - Isn't it fantastic!?!
A drawing Jo did of our quilt – Isn’t it fantastic!?!

Speaking of Jo, we’re participating in the Friendship Supernova Quilt along together. I’m really, really, really excited about this. Turns out we have nearly identical fabric tastes, and I’m going to finally get to do a rainbow quilt! It won’t be the last one either…I’ve had another rainbow idea floating around in my head for awhile now. Someday, Someday….

8 thoughts on “A day late….or more…

  1. Well your promise quilt is going to be amazing, I love that quilting idea! I’m curious as to what your Aurifil problems were….
    That idea for a Supernova is an amazing one…can’t wait to see how that progresses with your quilty friend!

  2. Love your design wall as well as the design for next quilt. Very lively and colorful! I am in love with rainbow colors too!

  3. I love our rainbow supernova πŸ˜€ ..don’t be surprised if I send you all the blocks at once?! LOL.

    I think eating cake is a great goal!! But then in June you might need to have an exercise goal which is no fun… but mmmm cake.

  4. Yay another Supernova quilter! I’m so excited to be a part of this swap, and I can’t wait to see everyone’s finished blocks! I’ll be following your blog, so I hope to see more progress! Greetings πŸ™‚

  5. Looking good! This will be a great quilt. The spiral quilting sounds like it will be a wonderful way to finish. Can’t wait to see your and Jo’s Super Nova take shape, too!

  6. What size needle were you using, and what did the article say to use? I haven’t had issues with a 80/12 universal for the 50wt, but anything heavier and I really need to use a 90/14 topstitch. Your quilt is coming together so pretty! And that supernova quilt is going to be so fun!

  7. You had my attention at ‘eat more cake’!
    Give Aurifil another chance. It is really difficult to get here, but I find it lovely to work with and I buy it when I can. I most notice the difference when hand sewing.

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

