Finished! – Woodsy Baby Blanket

It’s Friday! And I have a finish I’ve been sitting on for awhile (not literally though). It’s a baby blanket, and I wanted to gift it before I shared, just in case she found her way to this little space of the internet.

basting, basting, basting

I started with a few prints from Sweet as Honey, from, of course you guessed it, Franklin Mill. Then I filled in with my stash (and a few purchases too). The rest of the fabrics are from Bluebird Park, S’more Love, and a random script print that I remember nothing about. The solid is a Free Spirit, Citrine I think.

pin basting - so fun!
pin basting – so fun!

I went with triangles, because, well, I didn’t really have a reason. Just did. I was going to do just two rows with the solid on either side, but hubs didn’t think that looked awesome enough and suggested adding the scattered ones top and bottom.

binding and texture

I thought woodgrain would be a fun texture to try – and since it was a baby blanket too cutesy wasn’t an issue. I did use two layers of batting (Pellon’s Nature Touch) so there’s a 1/2″ of loft. Might be a little much on an adult size blanket, but it made it gloriously squishy.

More texture shots

I bound it using Wasn’t Quilt in a Day’s amazing tutorial. Seriously, if you think you hate machine binding, give this one a chance. So quick and easy, and perfect. Even when you forget to enlarge the binding because you have two layers of batting.

overall, on the floor

Overall, I think it was received well. Lots of ooooh’s and awwwww’s.

Linking to Crazy Mom Quilts, Finish it Friday!

20 thoughts on “Finished! – Woodsy Baby Blanket

  1. GREAT quilt!! Love the quilting and I just love it when quilts finish squishy!! How was working with two layers of batting? I have not done it yet but am giving very serious consideration on my next quilting project. . . which just happens to be triangles! 🙂

  2. Hubby was right with those triangles. I love when hubbies make suggestions in the design process. I like that you tried different techniques like double batting and machine binding. And I love the wood grain quilting. Awesome job all around!!

  3. This looks great! The double batting idea is great, and I love the wood grain quilting. I’ve never seen it before, but it works so well. Subtle organic but also geometric. Love it.

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

