Take the A-Train — Finished!!!

Well, I finally finished my Riley Blake Challenge quilt. And, boy, was this a labor of…something. I love the end result, and at times I loved the process. But there were other times I just wanted to throw it across the room and forget this whole crazy quilting thing. I’m glad the deadline kept me going, but it might be awhile before I participate in another challenge.

Finished - Take the A-Train

The finished quilt measures 70″ x 84″. The top is improv pieced with special attention so there is no 1 single seam the whole length or width of the quilt; so there was a lot of partial seams! I knew I wanted to quilt it on the denser side, so I went with Quilter’s Dream Orient for the batting. I have mixed feelings about that too. It’s a dream now that its done, lovely drape, nice and warm, but it shed like crazy over the quilt top and everything else. I’m still finding little cream fuzz balls on everything within 15 ft of my sewing table. I’ll probably use it again someday, but only on special quilts.

Back - Take the A-Train

For the quilting, I chose to do rectangular spirals that started around individual pieces and overlapped. To avoid turning the quilt 5,496,596 times, I used my FMQ foot. There was a definite learning curve with doing straight lines all hand guided. The first spirals show it too. The last ones are very close to straight, so practice does definitely make better.

Tape really helps with straight lines...
Tape really helps with straight lines…

Overall, I have mixed feelings about the whole process. I love the finished quilt – Love, Love, Love! But now I’m left with this kind of blergh feeling. Not sure on the next project, no sewing mojo. My machine is going into the shop tomorrow, so maybe the separation will return my mojo. 😀

Machine Stitched Binding

On the name – My husband has decided that all my quilts should be named after songs. Since it’s improv piecing, apparently that means its a Jazz quilt. And when you start playing Jazz, you riff on the standards. His favorite standard is Take the A-Train. So, the quilt is named Take the A-Train, which is much better than my choice – Big Bird.

tree shot - Take the A Train

Also, somehow I made a cat magnet quilt. My cat won’t get off it, and while we were taking pictures two neighborhood cats came to investigate. Maybe its the neon yellow…

Woody love it!

26 thoughts on “Take the A-Train — Finished!!!

  1. This is awesome!!! Definitely gets my vote for happiest quilt;-) I’m sure by the time you get your machine back you’ll have 6 new ideas you’re just dying to get started on… or maybe something small like the sewing room challenge.

  2. I love this quilt! I didn’t realize how much I love yellow until I started quilting, and this captures the essence of yellow for me. I’m sorry you got a little burnt out, but it’s amazing.

  3. If the cat loves it, that’s how you know it is a good quilt 🙂

    SO beautiful. I am loving the yellow! This quilt is a winter-buster. Perhaps you mention it in an earlier post, but on the front–is that brighter yellow a “neon” yellow? It’s such a cool pop!

  4. Love the quilt! Love your peekaboo helpers! And your cat is beautiful! I almost always “wander” a bit after a big project is complete…I have come to accept that I must rejoin the family now and then 😉

  5. Have I told you how much I love this quilt?! The colors are bright and happy and the design is so interesting! Impressive free motion quilting job! No wonder your sewing mojo needed a vacation! Beautiful!

  6. I adore this quilt. It’s amazing. The random piecing, the quilting, the colors, everything. I don’t think I’d ever think to use yellow as a “neutral,” but this may change my mind. — Christy

    1. heh heh, I think that yellow is Always a neutral, but whatever, that is just me! Loving this quilt to death!!! and I would like a definition of the word ” blergh” please!

  7. Just downloaded “Brake Lights” from the Moda Bake Shop and wanted to see more of your work. “Take The A Train” is gorgeous, you have a way with color I envy and I’ll be watching for more of your talent.

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

