Challenges

Last week I finished the top of my Riley Blake MQG Challenge quilt. It turned out waaaaay bigger than I planned! 70″ish b 85″ish.

I was trying my hand at an improv quilt. Apparently, when engineers try improv it all turns out right angles. I just could not stop myself from squaring up each piece. I love the outcome though. All that yellow — you can’t help but smile.

not the best photo - I know
not the best photo – I know

This weekend the BMQG meeting is in a large gym, so I’m going to take the opportunity to baste it, and hopefully get it quilted in time for the deadline.

My husband likes the ideas of challenges so much, he’s now issued one himself. To make a raw edge applique quilt – that I actually like, and is a usable size. He thought of this because I opened my big mouth and said I didn’t like raw edge applique. But this challenge comes with prizes; anything I want that will come out of his “crafty” budget. So it might be worth doing, hunh?

I’m thinking about doing the Orange Slices quilt out of Beginner’s Guide to Free Motion Quilting by Natalia Bonner (it’s the one on the cover). What would you do?

3 thoughts on “Challenges

  1. Hey, I found you online. It was so much talking to you at the BMQG meeting. Lovely quilt, your quilting plan sounds great! Can’t wait to see it finish.

I'd love it if you would leave your thoughts!

